See: Four countries join England in decision to snub 2018 FIFA World Cup in Russia

Four countries have joined Britain in its decision to snub the 2018 World Cup to be hosted by Russia.

They may not be sending officials in support of Britain’s partial boycott.

Last week, London said the British ministers and royals would not attend the showpiece in protest over the poisoning of former double agent Sergei Skripal and his daughter in England.

The Skripals survived the nerve agent attack but remain in critical condition.

British Prime Minister Theresa May had announced that her government had found that Russia was “culpable” of the attack.

England is still expected to send the Three Lions to the tournament and none of the 31 nations that qualified alongside the host have said they would not do so.

But Polish President Abndrzej Duda’s office said he will be skipping the tournament’s opening ceremony on June 14 in Moscow.

“Yesterday, the president made the decision not to participate as a representative of Poland at the World Cup in Russia,” presidential chief of staff Krzysztof Szczerski told RMF FM radio.

Also, Iceland’s national broadcaster RUV said the foreign ministry was consulting with its “allies” about a joint diplomatic boycott.

RUV said this possibly referred to Sweden and Denmark because they too are playing in Russia.

“The Icelandic government has not made any decision on possible measures in the wake of the attack but will continue to elaborate and consult with its closest neighbours and allies,” the foreign minister said in a separate statement.

Sweden and Denmark top officials have also indicated interests to boycott the tournament.


Leave a Reply